Colombourg is a historic municipality and today’s neighbourhood of Macamic, a town in Abitibi-Temiscamingue Region.
The first colons settled in Colombourg in 1914. Today, its population is of about 700. The community was proclaimed in 1926. Its name means “colon” for colonists and “bourg”. The village has preserved its rural charm and it attracts both tourists and new settlers.
In the 1980's, Mr. Claude Morin, citizen of Colombourg started his famous collection of horse drawn carriages he acquired from all over the Abitibi-Ouest area.
Today a Museum of horse-drawn carriages is unique in Abitibi-Ouest. The Collection of Claude-Morin is located in an old barn in the heart of the village of Colombourg.
Today, that municipality is part of the city of Macamic.
That village of colonization has started in the 20's and has preserved its rural attractiveness. A very picturesque road links Colombourg and Macamic, which can be traveled on bike.
The elegant church tower dominates the scenery in Colombourg. About ten lovely barns remind the narrow link between the agriculture and the growth of that rural Abitibi still unknown.
Hors-drawn Museum. Source of the photo : Macamic Web Site