The Isle-aux-Coudres Island is located on the St. Lawrence River about 32 km (20 mi) from Baie-Saint-Paul via Road 362. A ferry crossing (no-fee service) from St-Joseph-de-la-Rive links the island to the continent.
The island was baptized by Jacques Cartier, who anchored in the Baie de la Prairie on Septembre 6, 1535, during his second voyage to Canada. The navigator came across a number of hazelnut trees, or coudres in French, and he decided to name the island Isle-aux-Coudres. The islanders had to make their own clothing and linens, so they developed their traditions of cottage weaving, carefully preserving them to the present days.
Vacationers are amazed by the friendly welcome they receive here and all guests have a delightful time browsing in the quaint boutiques and chatting with the locals, whose proverbial hospitality lives on.
You can roam the 32-km (20-mi) road that circles the island. For a perfect combination of fun and sightseeing, visitors can take a west-to-east bicycle tour of the island discovering Isle-aux-Coudres’ wonders at their own pace. Many boutiques here offer an audio guide in English.
At the pier, a visitor should stop at the panels exposing interesting facts about the island’s cultural and natural life. A monument commemorating the arrival of Jacques Cartier is a perfect spot for memorable photos.
Please note that the local production of Ice Cider is considered one of the best in Quebec.
See also :