Lennoxville Walking Tour
The tour of Lennoxville is a unique 90-minute heritage walking tour which allows visitors to discover the architecture of the Lennoxville borough and the vicinity of Bishop’s University on a distance of 1.4 mile.
Lennoxville sits to the south of Sherbrooke. The borough derives its name from Charles Lennox, the duke of Richmond, Governor General of Upper and Lower Canada in the beginning of the 19th century. With the founding of Bishop’s University in 1853, Lennoxville assumed an international reputation as the setting of an important center of learning in Canada.
Guests can admire St. Mark’s Chapel. Built in 1857 in the 13th century Gothic style, on the Bishop’s University campus, built in 1857, and modeled after typical British college chapels such as those of Oxford and Cambridge. Also on campus, visitors can see the Centennial Theatre, the Bandeen Hall and the Foreman Art Gallery.
The Uplands Cultural and Heritage Center, formerly known as the Speid House, was built in 1862 in Neo-Georgian style. Today this former family residence is a museum dedicated to preserving and supporting the culture and heritage of the Eastern Town ships. Lennoxville is also known for its historical homes and antique shops and boutiques.
Many will be pleased to find the Golden Lion Pub and microbrewery. This microbrewery is the first handcrafted brewery opened in Quebec. Since 1986 it has been offering on-site tasting of its beers: the Blonde des Cantons, the Lion’s Pride, the Bishop’s Bitter, the Ambrée d’Amour, and the Irish Stout. In addition, you will find in Lennoxville two golf courses: the Old Lennoxville Golf Club, open since 1897, famous for its history; and the Milby Golf Club, reputed for the quality of its land.
Both clubs are located in the rolling countryside just minutes from the down-town. Lennoxville can be accessed via routes 108, 143, and 147.
The Lennoxville walking tour starts at the Uplands Cultural and Heritage Center (address: 9 Speid Street, phone: 819 564-0409.