Combined with a hydroelectric power station, the lock is a part of a network of canals linking Montreal to Kingston.
The Carillon Canal was opened in 1833 to bypass the rapids of the Ottawa River (Outaouais River), including those at Long Sault. The canal was built mostly for military purposes, but from the outset it was used for commerce.
The present-day canal is used almost exclusively for pleasure boating. Tourists can explore the remains of the first two canal systems and stroll along the outdoor interpretation circuit, observing the impressive maneuver of a boat negotiating a drop of 80 feet in water level in only 40 minutes. The guillotine gate, weighing 182 tons, is unique for North America: the lock raises and lowers boats in a single operation.
Inside the toll collector’s home, tourists can visit an exhibition on the history of the canal.
Each year, thousands of pleasure boaters visit the prominent Carillon Canal and its recreation area.
Argenteuil regional museum (ancient Carillon Barracks) is another point of interest to visit. Guests can take the ferry that links Saint-Andre-d’Argenteuil to Pointe-Fortune on the Ottawa River south shore.
To contact the Carillon Canal National Historic Site of Canada:
230 Du Barrage Street St-Andre-d’Argenteuil
Québec J0V 1X0
Phone: 450-537-3534 or toll free: 1-888-773-8888