Huntingdon

Huntingdon is known as the capital of the Haut Saint-Laurent region of Monteregie.

With its bilingual population of about 3000, the community is extending an open-ended invitation to families, groups and individuals to experience the true charm of being in a small town located just an hour southwest of the hustle-and bustle of the city of Montreal, and just minutes away from the State of New York and eastern Ontario.

The town of Huntingdon was founded in 1825 by British soldiers who fought during the British American War of 1812. Lands were donated by King George III of England as a gift to soldiers who were originally from the market town of Huntingdon in Cambridgeshire, England.

Later, Huntingdon became the main economic and political center of the county, and the town attracted many industries, including various types of mills, especially textile mills.

The visitors and residents alike have the chance to truly enjoy produce that is grown nearby when they shop at a Farmers’ Market found in the heart of Huntingdon every Saturday morning from May to October.

They can also take pleasure in art exhibitions by various artists and mediums held throughout the year at the Alfred Langevin Cultural Hall, as well as discover a growing number of exceptional artists living right in this picturesque town, with its Victorian-style public buildings, churches and houses.

This town has numerous beautiful parks and an abundance of tree lined quiet streets. King and Prince Streets testify to the prosperity of the area at the beginning of the last century. Bordered by mature trees, these streets boasted houses whose four-square architectural style was influenced by the American vernacular, predominately red brick and clapboard. Pavilion roofs generally included a dormer window on the front façade and architectural details which indicate the Anglo-Saxon influence.
In Huntingdon, the first court house, which also served as the registry office, was classified as a historical monument by the Quebec Government in 1984. Designed by John James Brown, the neo-classic, cut-stone building was constructed in 1859-1860. It features a three-part front façade, sash windows, four chimneys, one in each corner of the square building, and a lantern in the centre of the roof.

The town of Huntingdon is home to many independent businesses that have local ownership. There is a high school here, a child care center and facility providing training and services to young families. It has a regional arena offering figure skating classes, hockey teams for children, for adults, and public skating.

The town also has community skating on a rink circling a park maintained by Huntingdon’s own Fire Department. There is a municipal pool, a municipal library, a Royal Canadian Legion, an Optimist Club and a Rotary Club all within and around this quaint little town.

Huntingdon has four recognized churches: Anglican, Roman Catholic, Presbyterian and United Churches.
It has its own medical clinic downtown and a county hospital offering long term care.

See also :

  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • LinkedIn
  • TwitThis