The story begins in 1663, when the Jesuit priest Henri Nouvel lands here and conducts the first mass. In 1696 the territory was granted to Pierre Lessard. From 1859 to 1960, one of the most important navigational aide stations in Canada, known as the Pilot Station of Saint-Laurent was in operations here.
In 1882 this land was proclaimed the parish of Pointe-au-Pere. The municipality was officially constituted in 1989, but as we have said, in 2002, the town merged with Rimouski. In 1971, the population of Pointe-au-Pere was less than one thousand, but it has since quadrupled. This demographic growth is attributed to the fact that many young families choose to settle in an urban area within natural surroundings.
Residential and commercial construction has thus increased. In fact, Pointe-au-Pere's strategic location gives the community the potential to realize many new projects, as the industries would benefit from the proximity to the airport and the port of Rimouski. Furthermore, Pointe-au-Pere is home to the Agricultural Station of the National Institute for research. The facility conducts research on sea water.
Pointe-au-Pere lighthouse along with Museum of the Sea are major tourist attractions. The lighthouse played a central role in the history of navigation. This lighthouse is one of the tallest lighthouses in Canada. A guided tour is offered to the top, from were guests can admire the region. The lighthouse keeper's house is home to exhibits.
On May 29, 1914, the RMS Empress of Ireland sank in the St. Lawrence River near this village, and more than 1,000 people died there.
The Empress of Ireland Pavilion presents the history of this large passenger ship. Guests can take a tour of the Onondaga submarine, a tourist attraction unique in Canada. Visitors board the submarine and find out about the lives of the men who lived for months inside it.