Saint-Augustin-de-Woburn is a small village of 700 people, located in the Granit County, Eastern Townships, in a wooded area at the foot of Mount Gosford.
This 1193-metre peak adds to the town's unique character. Note than the official name of the community is Saint-Augustin-de-Woburn, but most people refer to it as Woburn. Woburn is situated south of Lake Megantic and east of Notre-Dame-des-Bois.
The municipality borders the United States. The village was founded officially in 1884. Under the push for Francophone colonization, the French of Bretagne and Vendee established themselves in Woburn Township, at the centre of the Channay colony, founded in 1880.
On the recommendation of Bishop Antoine Racine of the Sherbrooke Diocese and president of the Society of Colonisation of the City of Sherbrooke, they built a mission and parish. The parish was christened in 1898 with its current name to honour both a patron saint and a benefactor, Lady Augustine Duval.
Three sawmills and an ultra-modern wood processing plant operate here. Visitors can enjoy the facilities of the Louise-Gosford outfitter and the Forest of Mont Gosford.