Kativik Regional Government (KRG)

Created in 1978, the Kativik Regional Government (KRG) is a public organization which has jurisdiction over all the territory of Québec located north of the 55th parallel, excluding lands intended for the Cree community of Whapmagoustui.

Thus, the Kativik Regional Government encompasses most of the Nunavik region of Quebec. KRG is a non-ethnic organization governed by the Kativik Act. The KRG has its head office in Kuujjuaq, on the Koksoak River, about 50 kilometres inland from the southern end of the Ungava Bay. Its offices are located in each of the region's 14 Northern villages. Beside, 14 Inuit reserved lands and one Naskapi reserved land are located in the region.

The Kativik Regional Government covers a territory of about 500,000 km² and includes a population of just over 10,000 persons, of which about 90% are Inuit. The KRG was created in accordance with the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement The Inuit of Nunavik are also represented by the Makivik Corporation on issues specifically pertaining to their indigenous rights of hunting and land use. The Makivik Corporation is headquartered in Kuujjuaq.

The territory of the region comprises the following Nordic villages: Kuujjuarapik Umiujaq Inukjuak Kangiqsualujjuaq Kuujjuaq Tasiujaq Aupaluk Kangirsuk Quaqtaq Puvirnituq Akulivik Kangiqsujuaq

Ivujivik Note than the Inuit reserved lands are homonymous with the Nordic villages.

Address of Kativik Regional Government (KRG): P.O. Box 9 Kuujjuaq, Quebec

J0M 1C0

Telephone: 819 964-2961

Toll free: 1-877-964-2961

Web site of Kativik Regional Government: www.krg.ca

See also:

  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • LinkedIn
  • TwitThis