Nunavik Region covers a vast land area of about 444,000 km² or 171,308 sq mi, north of the 55th parallel. This territory is the homeland of the Inuit. Indeed, almost all of the 12,000 inhabitants of Nunavik are Inuit. The word Nunavik means “place where you can live” in Inuktitut language.

The Ungava Peninsula forms the northern two-thirds of the region.

Nunavik is part of the administrative region of Northern Quebec. There are fourteen northern villages in Nunavik as well as a Cree reserved land of Whapmagoostui, located near the village of Kuujjuarapik. You’ll find no roads linking Nunavik and the exterior world. The Trans-Taiga Road ends near the 55th parallel on the Caniapiscau Reservoir, several hundred kilometres south of Kuujjuaq.

The seat of local government is Kuujjuaq (population of about 2,200), located on the southern shore of Ungava Bay, The northern villages of Nunavik are: Inukjuak, Salluit, Puvirnituq, Ivujivik, Kangiqsujuaq, Kangiqsualujjuaq, Kangirsuk, Tasiujaq, Aupaluk, Akulivik, Quaqtaq, and Umiujaq. Nunavik is rich in mineral deposits.

Raglan Mines is one of the largest.

The average annual temperature here is -10°C.

There are three meteor craters in Nunavik: Pingualuit Crater (known as well as New Quebec Crater), Couture Crater, and La Moinerie Crater.

See also :

  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • LinkedIn
  • TwitThis