St. Matthew's Cemetery
The only cemetery in Old Quebec, St. Matthew's Cemetery is the resting place of many early British residents. This cemetery is one of the region's oldest and most picturesque.
The burial place was established in 1771, originally limited to burial of Protestants. Closed in 1860, the cemetery has been turned into a park. Next door is St. Matthew's Anglican Church, now a public library. While visiting Quebec City, many tourists come to enjoy the tranquil setting (and St. Matthew's Church). The romantic grounds are littered with families relaxing amongst the majestic trees and old tombstones.
In fact, the cemetery is a beautiful retreat in a busy, artistic neighbourhood, a lovely spot to have a picnic and take a break. Since this cemetery is also one of the few parks in Saint-Jean Baptiste Borough, it has also become a local favourite for lunch on a beautiful day.
Address of the St. Matthew's Cemetery:
755 rue St Jean, St-Jean-Baptiste Borough