Governor of New France

The Governor of New France represented King of France.

The commander in chief of the armed forces (regular army and militia), the Governor was in charge of the defense of the colony and dealt with foreign policy issues and relations with Indians.

In fact, he represented the king in all issues of general interest. In 1608, Samuel de Champlain assumed responsibilities of the oldest office in Canada, that of the Governor of New France. In 1627, King Louis XIII officially confirmed Champlain’s appointment.

The Governor of New France shared his powers with the Intendant.

Here is the list of New France Governors:

  • 1608-1635: Samuel de Champlain
  • 1636-1648: Charles Jacques de Huault de Montmagny
  • 1648-1651: Louis d’Ailleboust, sieur de Coulonge
  • 1651-1657: Jean de Lauzon
  • 1658-1661: Pierre de Voyer, viscount of Argenson
  • 1661-1663: Pierre Dubois, baron of Avaugour
  • 1663-1665: Augustin de Saffray, sieur de Mézy
  • 1665-1672: Daniel de Rémy, sieur de Courcelles
  • 1672-1682: Louis de Buade, earl of Frontenac
  • 1682-1685: Joseph-Antoine Lefebvre de La Barre
  • 1685-1689: J.-R. de Brisay, marquis of Denonville
  • 1689-1698: Louis de Buade, earl de Frontenac
  • 1699-1703: Louis-Hector, knight of Callieres
  • 1703-1725: Philippe de Rigaud, marquis of Vaudreuil
  • 1726-1747: Charles de Boische, marquis of Beauharnois
  • 1748-1749: Roland-M. Barrin, earl of La Galissonniere
  • 1749-1752: Jacques-Pierre de Taffanel, marquis of Jonquiere
  • 1752-1755: Ange Duquesne, marquis of Menneville
  • 1755-1760: Pierre de Rigaud, marquis of Vaudreuil-Cavagnial

down town quebec

Down-town of Quebec City. Photo : ©

See also:

  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • LinkedIn
  • TwitThis