St. Irenee

In the heart of the Charlevoix World Biosphere Reserve, at the confluence of the great St Lawrence River and the small Jean-Noel River, clinging to the mountain base and along the beach shores, the village of Saint-Irenee is spread along the rolling hills.

St. Irenee was founded in 1840. The population of St.Irenee is of about 700 inhabitants. Vacationers began to arrive here around 1850. They built large villas. Till our days, the main core of buildings can be found on the bottom slope of the village. A few quaint and lovely private residences can be admired from outside, but are not open to public tours.

A bit higher up on the mountainside, the country road of St-Antoine leads past the farmers’ fields just above the Forget Domain. At the Forget Domain, named after Rodolphe Forget, a member of Canadian Parliament in the early 20th century, the famous music school hosts every summer a classical music festival of international calibre. At the top of the village, the Deblois Studios offers a collection of pottery and giftware.

This workshop also hosts an art gallery. Guests can also try at St. Irenee your hand at smelt fishing.

To get to St. Irenee, drivers must take highway 138 on the north bank of the Saint Lawrence River, and follow highway 362 on the length of the river between Baie-St-Paul to La Malbaie.

As to accommodations, visitors can treat themselves at Cafe Le Saint-Laurent (sometimes, the owner can even sing Irish songs), stay at Hôtel Le Rustique, Restaurant-Motel de la Plage, Auberge des Sablons, Eider matinal, Les studios du Domaine Forget, - Aux cinq pignons, B&B Gite du Ruisseau, La Cedriere,  Le Port d’attache, Les Sorbiers, Manoir Hortensia, Villa Grande, Chalets André et Margot Lajoie, Domaine du Fleuve.

See also:

  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • Facebook
  • Google
  • StumbleUpon
  • Technorati
  • LinkedIn
  • TwitThis