Rapide-Danseur is a small yet dynamic village in north-western Quebec, in the Abitibi-Ouest County, on the waterfront of Duparquet River. It has a population of about 300.
The village is set in a scenic decor that visitors never grow tired of admiring. Rapide-Danseur was named after the Algonquin word Opacitcicimosik, which means: where people stop to dance. The first families settle in Rapide-Danseur in 1932. The first parish priest, Father Charles-Auguste Dion, settled here in 1939.
When it was time to build the village’s church, the Father assumed the role of architect, drawing up the plans and mobilizing the parish to build the Baroque fieldstone church. Today, the site of the Rapide-Danseur St. Bruno missionary church is designated as an historic site.
The community is very proud of its fieldstone church now designated a historic site. The Portage Pourvoirie outfitting operation of Rapide-Danseur has accommodated tourists from everywhere since its opening in 1957. It offers hunting and fishing packages as well as boat rental services.
Visitors can watch bears, moose, beavers and birds in their natural environment. Besides, Rural Parks complex gives access to a particular phenomenon localized in the country and often a natural environment.
Ten parks are located here with two major paths, - La Promenade, about 2 km long, with park of epilobium, park of old automobiles, park of sparrows, park of Rapide; and the path of La Lune: park of frogs, park of the old school, park of the view-point, park of the red maples, park of erratic block and park of the esker. This trail is 3.6 km long.