Nestled on the Quévillon Lake peninsula, the town of Lebel-sur-Quevillon (about 3400 inhabitants) lies in the southeastern part of the James Bay area. The first part of its name the town borrowed from Mr. Jean-Baptiste Lebel of Clova, the owner of the first sawmill in Rapide-des-Cedres, a small hamlet not far from the town’s current location.
The second part of the name comes the lake that was, in its turn, named after Louis-Amable Quevillon, a carpenter and architect, who decorated many churches in Quebec.
Visitors find it rather impressive that a lake bears a name of an artist. Only in Quebec! The sawmill used to give jobs to up to 1200 employees. Then, in the sixties, a famous Quebec’s enterprise Domtar chose this location to set up a kraft pulp and a paper mill. Indeed, the quality of the local black spruce was considered the best in the world, and thus for dozens of years, Lebel-sur-Quevillon provided jobs and a good quality of life for many forestry workers of the region.
In addition, copper, silver, gold, and zinc discovered in the local soil allowed the town to intensify and diversify its economy. The legendary beauty of the territory attracts many outdoor activities fans.
The immensity of the forests, the breathtaking landscapes, and the warmth of the people astound the tourists. The region is a destination favored by fishermen, hunters, snow-mobilers, and adventure-seekers longing for a northern experience. Tourists can enjoy a visit to Lebel-sur-Quevillon Marina and its immense golden sand beach, located less than a kilometer from downtown.
A paradise for aquatic-sport lovers, it offers canoeing, kayaking, and pedal boating. (Rental equipment is available on site.)
Lebel-sur-Quevillon City Hall contact information:
Find out more: