The village of St-Jean-de-l'Ile-d'Orleans, located on the Orleans Island, less than half an hour from Old Quebec, was founded in 1679, thus it is one of the most ancient officially constituted communities in Canada. From the beginning, the village was home to sailors and pilots.
Besides, prosperous farmers (milking industry, cultivation of potatoes and strawberries have been always present here) have lived there. In 1759, for a short period the village was occupied by the British Army, but few traces of that presence remain. From the beginning of New France, islanders used boats and canoes to cross the St. Lawrence summertime.
When winter came, ice bridges were naturally created between the island and the shore. Still today, snowmobile enthusiasts use the ice bridge to cross the river and get to St. Jean. Vacationers chose St. Jean as one of the most popular tourist attractions since 19th Century.
The church of St. Jean goes back to 1732.
The cemetery, with its unique view on the St. Lawrence River and the illusion of infinity, leaves a lasting impression on visitors. A fabulous example of a Quebec stone manor house Mauvide-Genest Manor is located here.