Founded in 1679, the parish of Saint-François of d'Orleans Island covers a large area from North to South, on the Eastern tip of the island, known as Argentenay.
The community also includes the Madame Island and the Ruau Island, part of the Montmagny Archipelago. Its population is made up
The slopes on both sides of the village are used to farming and are interesting in that the composition of the soil is diversified: one side is composed of a clay-based soil and the other of a sandy mixture. Jacques Cartier was the first to discover this green territory, which he named "Ile de Bacchus" (Bacchus Island) after the wild vines that were growing everywhere. A sixty-foot high observation tower stands on the cap.
It’s worth climbing in order to discover the Saint-François' wide natural landscapes, a delight for nature lovers. The view on Mont-Sainte-Anne and the Cap Tourmente is breathtaking.